Skip to main content

Социальные сети

Presentation of the region

Kursk region – the subject of the Russian Federation, is part of the Central Federal District. The administrative center is Kursk.

Kursk region borders:

in the northwest with Bryanskaya,
in the north – with Oryol,
in the northeast-with Lipetsk,
in the east – with Voronezh,
in the south – with the Belgorod regions;
From the southwestern and western side, the Sumy region of Ukraine adjoins it.

The Kursk region is located in the center of the European part of Russia, on the southwestern slopes of the Central Russian Upland, is part of the Central Federal District. The area of the territory is 30.0  square meter.

The number of the permanent population of the region as of January 1, 2022 was 1104.008 thousand people, whose average age is 42.1 years – corresponds to the characteristics of the most able -bodied state. The population density is 36.9 person per square meter.

The administrative-territorial structure of the region includes: 28 municipal districts, 288 rural settlements, 5 urban districts, 27 urban settlements. The share of the urban population is 68.2%, rural – 31.8%. The administrative center of the region is the city of Kursk with a population of 449.56 thousand people. The largest cities include Zheleznogorsk (100.5 thousand people), Kurchatov (38.2 thousand people), Ligs (18.4 thousand people), Shchigars (15.1 thousand people), Rylsk (16.2 thousand people).

News region

Call me!