Skip to main content

Region presentation

Kursk Region is a constituent entity of the Russian Federation and is part of the Central Federal District. The administrative center is Kursk.

Kursk region borders in the north-west with Bryansk, in the north – with Orel, in the north-east – with Lipetsk, in the east – with Voronezh, in the south – with Belgorod regions; from the southwestern and western sides, the Sumy region of Ukraine adjoins it.

Kursk Region is located in the center of the European part of Russia, on the southwestern slopes of the Central Russian Upland, and is part of the Central Federal District. The area of ​​the territory is 30.0 thousand km2.

The resident population of the region as of January 1, 2020 was 1,104,008 thousand people, whose average age – 42.1 years – corresponds to the characteristics of the most able-bodied state. The population density is 36.9 people per km2.

The administrative-territorial structure of the region includes: 28 municipal districts, 288 rural settlements, 5 urban districts, 27 urban settlements. The share of urban population is 68.2%, rural – 31.8%. The administrative center of the region is the city of Kursk with a population of 449.56 thousand people. The largest cities include Zheleznogorsk (100.5 thousand people), Kurchatov (38.2 thousand people), Lgov (18.4 thousand people), Shchigry (15.1 thousand people), Rylsk (16.2 thousand people).

House of Soviets, Red Square 1, Kursk

Region news

Call me!